Cardiff Winds
Chwythprennau Chaerdydd

Photo of Cardiff Winds <br />Chwythprennau Chaerdydd

This ensemble is based around a quintet of top professionals based in Cardiff with links to the city’s major musical institutions: Welsh National Opera, BBC National Orchestra of Wales and the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. The core members are Sarah Newbold (flute), Catriona Mackinnon (oboe), Robert Plane (clarinet), Donald Clist (horn) and Meyrick Alexander (bassoon) and this group can be expanded when required. The group was formed in 2012 and concerts are planned for 2013 in Llandaff Cathedral, Dora Stoutzker Hall (RWCMD), Leominster Lion Ballroom and in 2014 in Llantilio Croesenny. Repertoire includes works by Hindemith, Barber, Damase, Carter, Nielsen and a work has been specially composed by Derek Smith for Cardiff Winds.



---- click here to return to artist menu ----